Skip to content

Everyday I'm Sprinklin'

A young lady learning how to bake

Wink restaurant is amazing.

Hands down. The food was delicious! We decided to try the 5 course tasting menu. Unfortunately since the lights were dim and we didn’t want to be rude with all the flashing from our phone cameras we only took one photo of the main entree, the New York strip. Also, I am not a wine person but I wanted to try one out that the waitress picked for me and see how I liked it. I was poured a glass of 2009 Mönchhof Ürziger Würzgarten Riesling Kabinett (if I’m not mistaken- I didn’t get a good look at the name) and it was perfect!

My aunt, Melinda, went through this phase where she was ecstatic about wine tasting. I remember her bringing home bottles of wine for us to try and teaching us which one would compliment the types of meals. I always loved dessert wine due to it not being so heavy or tart like reds. After tasting the Mönchhof I will most likely be buying a bottle, soon.

Our menu for the night was:

Hamachi Sashimi with compressed watermelon, pickled watermelon rind, cilantro and crispy ham
Dayboat Scallops with celeriac purée, butter leeks and lemon thyme
Duck Breast with parsnip, chanterelles, mission figs and vanilla honey gastrique
Grilled New York Strip with yellow squash, green beans, red lasoda potatoes and salsa verde
Texas Cheese Plate which consisted of ste maure, dos lunas seco, sand creek gouda and hopelessly bleu

For dessert we enjoyed Creme Brulee. The best creme brulee I have ever tasted in my life to be honest.

I apologize for the bad resolution – wanted to take a fast and quick photo.

With the Sashimi it was a little too “fishy” for my tastes but to be fair I have never been a fan of raw fish. I did enjoy the mixture of flavors overall though.
The Scallops were amazing! I would definitely recommend this for anyone that loves a buttery warmth to seafood.
The Duck Breast was my favorite. Hands down. Cooked to perfection and the figs went with it so well. Amazing combination of flavors and if I could eat this every single day- I would.
The Grilled New York Strip was delicious! It was cooked on the rare side and I really liked the green beans (they are my favorite vegetables). The potatoes were cooked just right and the salsa verde gave it a nice kick!
The Cheese Plate was kind of hit or miss with me to be honest. I don’t have a love for cheese like some folks but I did enjoy the hopelessly bleu and sand creek gouda. To be fair, gouda is just a damn good cheese.
Last but not least- Creme Brulee was DELICIOUS! All you have to know is that if you ever go to Wink you must try it!

After all the different flavors and textures I was extremely happy by the end of the night. Would I go there again? Absolutely! I would recommend this restaurant to any foodie out there! It’s hidden away by a cleaners store but definitely a gem.

xo

Tags: , ,